Chinese Red Bean Soup

Happy Chinese New Year everyone! It’s the year of the monkey and we celebrated it with our friends this weekend with yummy food. I made homemade vegan potstickers, this Chinese red bean soup, and a vegan chocolate cake with avocado frosting. I know, the cake isn’t Chinese food, but we were also celebrating our friend’s birthday. It was a potluck, so lot’s of people came with delicious food. It’s tradition to have noodles and potstickers every Chinese New Year in my family. I’m sad I won’t be home eating my mom’s cooking this New Year’s, but I’ve learned some good recipes from my amazing mother. Everyone knows her by her cooking!

Now onto this red bean soup, also one of my mom’s recipes. Of course I had to call her and ask her how to make it. I loved eating red bean soup for dessert or on a cold day in Taiwan. In the Asian culture, beans are mostly sweet not savory. This Chinese red bean soup is often a dessert. It’s not overly sweet, which I love. This recipe is so easy if you have a crock pot on hand too! Also, it’s vegan, oil-free, and gluten-free! Chinese Red Bean Soup Chinese Red Bean Soup Chinese Red Bean Soup Chinese Red Bean SoupChinese Red Bean Soup
Serves 16-20

2 cups red beans (azuki beans)
10-12 cups water (depending on how much your crock pot can fit)
1 cup sugar (I used 3/4 cup organic granulated sugar + 1/4 cup brown sugar)
1 can light coconut milk

Soak your beans in water overnight or for 8 hours. Drain and rinse. Add the beans to the crock pot and add 10-12 cups of water. My crockpot was filled with water until about an inch or two from the top of the rim. Cook on low for 7-8 hours.

Add sugar and coconut milk to the soup and stir well. Let it cook on low for another 15 minutes. Taste the soup and add more sugar if you want it sweeter.

Serve hot, warm, or cold. I personally prefer it hot. Enjoy!

Store any leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

 

6 thoughts on “Chinese Red Bean Soup

  1. Ooo I love red bean soup! It’s always been one of my favorite desserts. Especially with mochi in it 😉
    I’ve never tried it with coconut milk though! Is that a tradition recipe? Sounds neat.

    Like

      1. Interesting! Next time I have coconut milk in the house I’ll try adding it in! It must be a different regional thing. In Japan, the traditional way is to have red bean soup with mochi. When there is a lot of soup and just a little mochi in the bowl, it’s called oshiruko. And, when there’s a lot of mochi and some red beans poured over top, it’s called zenzai. Both are awesome haha 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

